SL Cricketer Angelo Matthews posts time stamps to prove he was given out wrongly

276
Angelo Matthews explains timed out incident
Angelo Matthews explains timed out incident
- Advertisement -
Angelo Matthews explains timed out incident
Angelo Matthews explains the timed-out incident

Sri Lankan Cricketer Angelo Matthews became the first International Cricketer ever to be given timed out. The incident happened during the Sri Lanka and Bangladesh match in the Cricket World Cup 2023. According to the fourth umpire of the match, Angelo Matthews took more than 2 minutes, the stipulated time to take the crease, and then the Bangladesh Captain Shakib Al Hasan appealed to the umpires about it.

Though Angelo tried to explain that his helmet strap broke, Shakib refused to withdraw the decision. As a result, he was out and this led to a huge debate on various social media platforms.

Angelo Matthews after the game, posted time stamps to prove that he was at the crease before 2 minutes and then his helmet strap broke. He posted, “4th umpire is wrong here! Video evidence shows I still had 5 more seconds even after the helmet gave away! Can the 4th umpire rectify this, please? I mean safety is paramount as I just couldn’t face the bowler without a helmet.”